Wallis and Futuna


The Futuna island group was discovered by the Dutch in 1616 and Wallis by the British in 1767, but it was the French who declared a protectorate over the islands in 1842. In 1959, the inhabitants of the islands voted to become a French overseas territory.


Location: Oceania, islands in the South Pacific Ocean, about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii to New Zealand
Geographic coordinates: 13 18 S, 176 12 W
Population: 15,453 (July 2012 est.)
Age structure: 0-14 years: 25.1% (male 2,018/female 1,846)

15-64 years: 67.1% (male 5,191/female 5,137)

65 years and over: 7.8% (male 563/female 643) (2011 est.)

Country name: conventional long form: Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands

conventional short form: Wallis and Futuna

local long form: Territoire des Iles Wallis et Futuna

local short form: Wallis et Futuna

Dependency status: overseas territory of France
Telephones – main lines in use: 3,100 (2009)
Telephones – mobile cellular: NA
Airports: 2 (2012)
Airports – with paved runways: total: 2

1,524 to 2,437 m: 1

914 to 1,523 m: 1 (2012)

Defence is the responsibility of France


The economy is limited to traditional subsistence agriculture, with about 80% of labour force earnings from agriculture (coconuts and vegetables), livestock (mostly pigs), and fishing. About 4% of the population is employed in government. Revenues come from French Government subsidies, licensing of fishing rights to Japan and South Korea, import taxes, and remittances from expatriate workers in New Caledonia.

Transnational Issues: