A lengthy struggle between France and Great Britain for the islands ended in 1814, when they were ceded to the latter. Independence came in 1976. Socialist rule was brought to a close with a new constitution and free elections in 1993. President France-Albert RENE, who had served since 1977, was re-elected in 2001, but stepped down in 2004. Vice President James MICHEL took over the presidency and in July 2006 was elected to a new five-year term.


Location: archipelago in the Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar
Geographic coordinates: 4 35 S, 55 40 E
Population: 90,024 (July 2012 est.)
Age structure: 0-14 years: 21.9% (male 9,987/female 9,501)

15-64 years: 71% (male 33,044/female 30,277)

65 years and over: 7.2% (male 2,399/female 3,980) (2011 est.)

Country name: conventional long form: Republic of Seychelles

conventional short form: Seychelles

local long form: Republic of Seychelles

local short form: Seychelles

Government type: republic
Capital: name: Victoria

geographic coordinates: 4 38 S, 55 27 E

time difference: UTC+4 (9 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Telephones – main lines in use: 22,000 (2009)
Telephones – mobile cellular: 117,600 (2009)
Airports: 14 (2012)
Airports – with paved runways: total: 7

2,438 to 3,047 m: 1

914 to 1,523 m: 5

under 914 m: 1 (2012)

Military branches: Seychelles Defence Force: Army, Coast Guard (includes Naval Wing, Air Wing), National Guard (2005)
Military service age and obligation: 18 years of age for voluntary military service (younger with parental consent); no conscription (2012)

Transnational Issues:

Together with Mauritius, Seychelles claims the Chagos Archipelago (UK-administered British Indian Ocean Territory).