Mayotte was ceded to France along with the other islands of the Comoros group in 1843. It was the only island in the archipelago that voted in 1974 to retain its link with France and forego independence.


Population: 214 961
Age structure: 0-14 years: 46.5% (male 49,249/female 48,287)

15-64 years: 51% (male 49,665/female 57,209)

65 years and over: 2.4% (male 2,559/female 2,561) (2011 est.)

Country name: conventional long form: Territorial Collectivity of Mayotte

conventional short form: Mayotte

Dependency status: departmental collectivity of France
Government type: NA
Capital: name: Mamoudzou

geographic coordinates: 12 46 S, 45 13 E

time difference: UTC+3 (8 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Telephones – main lines in use: 10,000 (2009)
Telephones – mobile cellular: 48,100 (2005)
Airports: 1 (2010)
Airports – with paved runways: total: 1

1,524 to 2,437 m: 1 (2010)

Defence is the responsibility of France; a small contingent of French forces is stationed on the island


Economic activity is based primarily on the agricultural sector, including fishing and livestock raising. Mayotte is not self-sufficient and must import a large portion of its food requirements, mainly from France. The economy and future development of the island are heavily dependent on French financial assistance, an important supplement to GDP. Mayotte’s remote location is an obstacle to the development of tourism.

Transnational Issues:

Claimed by Comoros